PSL 2020 draft Team-wise list of players picked

PSL 2020 drafting has been done after an elegant ceremony held in Lahore on Friday. It was a fight between the franchises to snatch the services of the International cricketer. The draft ceremony began with the opening speeches of the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Ehsan Mani and its Chief Operating officer Waseem Khan.

The draft for the 2020 edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL)
The draft ceremony began with the opening speeches of the chairman PCB and its Chief Operating officer.

With the likes of South African fast bowling legend Dale Steyn, England’s impulsive opener Jason Roy, Australian all-rounder Ben Cutting, Somerset’s saweggering batsman Tom Banton, James Vince and South African leg-spinner Imran Tahir, it was always going to be a battle for the franchise owners to get the best names on their side. And, it proved that way.

PSL 2020 Draft

PSL 2020 Drafting rule
The draft of PSL 2020 players are divided into five categories.

The draft of PSL-2020 was held in December 6, 7 2019. The players are divided into five categories that include.

  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Gold
  • Silver
  • Emerging

PSL t20 2020 Squad

Each team consist of at least 16 players and may have a squad of 18 players. The union of the players will be as per the following sequence.

  • Platinum Three
  • Diamond Three
  • Gold Three
  • Silver Five
  • emerging Two
  • supplementary (optional) two

Who all did the franchises opt for in the PSL draft?

  • Karachi Kings

The Kings secured the services of Pakistan’s current T20 captain Babar Azam, fast bowler Mohammad Amir and overnight opener Alex Hales in Platinum while Imad Wasim (brand ambassador), Iftikhar Ahmed and T20 death over specialist Chris Jordan was bought in the diamond slot.

All-rounder Aamir Yamin, opener Sharjeel Khan, and Aussie T20 specialist Cameron Delport were available in the Gold category while the sliver category boasts of names like Usama Mir, Mohammad Rizwan, Umaid Asif, Dan Lawrance, and Ali Khan. Umer Khan and Arshad Iqbal were picked as emerging players while Liam Plunkett, Awais Zia were bought in the supplementary category.

  • Platinum: Babar Azam, Mohammad Amir, Alex Hales
  • Diamond: Imad Wasim (brand ambassador), Iftikhar Ahmed, Chris Jordan
  • Gold: Aamir Yamin, Sharjeel Khan, Cameron Delport
  • Silver: Usama Mir, Mohammad Rizwan, Umaid Asif, Dan Lawrance, Ali Khan
  • Emerging: Umer Khan, Arshad Iqbal
  • Supplementary: Liam Plunkett, Awais Zia

Quetta Gladiators

The defending champions picked England’s rowdy opener Jason Roy, Mohammad Nawaz and former Pakistan captain Sarfaraz Ahmed in the Platinum category. while diamond category has Shane Watson(mentor) opener Ahmed Shehzad and all-rounder Ben Cutting.

As far as Gold category is concerned, Umar Akmal is included as an ambassador along with fast bowling mastermind Mohammad Hasnain, and spinner Fawad Ahmed.

Ahsan Ali, 16-year-old Naseem Shah, fast bowler Sohail Khan, T20 pundit Tymal Mills and Abdul Nasir were the four choices while Arish Ali Khan and Azam Khan were picked up from the emerging players’ category. West Indian fast bowler Keemo Paul and Khurram Manzoor were picked in the supplementary category.

Platinum: Mohammad Nawaz, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Jason Roy

Diamond: Shane Watson (mentor), Ahmed Shehzad, Ben Cutting

Gold: Umar Akmal (ambassador), Mohammad Hasnain, Fawad Ahmed

Silver: Ahsan Ali, Naseem Shah, Sohail Khan, Tymal Mills, Abdul Nasir

Emerging: Arish Ali Khan, Azam Khan

Supplementary: Keemo Paul, Khurram Manzoor

Multan Sultans

English all-rounder Moeen Ali, South African Rilee Rossouw and Muhammad are in the Platinum category while Diamond category has Shahid Afridi (mentor), Zeeshan Ashraf, Ravi Bopara. James Vince (brand ambassador) lead the gold category alongside the left-arm fast bowling duo of  Junaid Khan and Sohail Tanvir.

The silver category is combined with Ali Shafiq, Test opener Shan Masood, all-rounder Khushdil Shah, spinner Usman Qadir, and West Indies spinner Fabian Allen while in the emerging category, Mohammad Ilyas, Pakistan U19 captain Rohail Nazir were picked. As far as Supplementary was concerned Imran Tahir and Bilawal Bhatti were picked.

Platinum: Mohammad Irfan, Moeen Ali, Rilee Rossouw

Diamond: Shahid Afridi (mentor), Zeeshan Ashraf, Ravi Bopara

Gold: James Vince (brand ambassador), Junaid Khan, Sohail Tanvir

Silver: Ali Shafiq, Shan Masood, Khushdil Shah, Usman Qadir, Fabian Allen

Emerging: Mohammad Ilyas, Rohail Nazir

Supplementary: Imran Tahir, Bilawal Bhatti

Islamabad United

Shadab Khan, Dale Steyn, Colin Ingram have control of the Platinum category while all-rounder Faheem Ashraf (brand ambassador), Asif Ali and Kiwi opener Colin Munro were named in the diamond category. Luke Ronchi (mentor), Hussain Talat, Rumman Raees included into Gold was concerned while Amad Butt, Musa Khan, Rizwan Hussain, Zafar Gohar, Phil Salt were all named in the silver category.

Aqif Javed, Ahmed Safi Abdullah will be the two emerging players while Saif Badar and South African International Rassie van der Dussen picked in the supplementary category.

Platinum: Shadab Khan, Dale Steyn, Colin Ingram,

Diamond: Faheem Ashraf (brand ambassador), Asif Ali, Colin Munro

Gold: Luke Ronchi (mentor), Hussain Talat, Rumman Raees

Silver: Amad Butt, Musa Khan, Rizwan Hussain, Zafar Gohar, Phil Salt

Emerging: Aqif Javed, Ahmed Safi Abdullah

Supplementary: Saif Badar, Rassie van der Dussen

Lahore Qalandars

Opener Fakhar Zaman, all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez and daredevil Australian opener Chris Lynn were the first three choices for the Qalandars in the Platinum category, as were Shaheen Shah Afridi (brand ambassador), all-rounder David Wiese and fast bowler Usman Shinwari in a diamond.

As far as the Gold category was concerned, Haris Rauf, Sohail Akhtar, and Samit Patel were the three picks while discarded former opener Salman Butt, Sri Lankan International Seekkuge Prasanna, Australia’s T20 expert Ben Dunk, Farzan Raja, Jaahid Ali were picked in the silver category.

Faizan was picked in the emerging players’ category while the Qalandars secured the services of West Indies opener Lendl Simmons and Dilbar Hussain in the supplementary category.

Platinum: Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Chris Lynn

Diamond: Shaheen Shah Afridi (brand ambassador), David Wiese, Usman Shinwari

Gold: Haris Rauf, Sohail Akhtar, Samit Patel

Silver: Salman Butt, Seekkuge Prasanna, Ben Dunk, Farzan Raja, Jaahid Ali

Emerging: M Faizan

Supplementary: Lendl Simmons, Dilbar Hussain

Peshawar Zalmi

Fast bowler Wahab Riaz all-rounder Hasan Ali and Kieron Pollard are in the Platinum category while the diamond category contain T20 specialists Kamran Akmal (brand ambassador), Tom Banton and Shoaib Malik.

Darren Sammy (mentor), Imam-ul-Haq and Liam Dawson are in the Gold category. Umar Amin, Mohammad Mohsin, Rahat Ali, Dwaine Pretorius, Adil Amin, are combined in sliver category.

emerging zone lead by Amir Khan and Amir Ali, while Liam Livingstone and Haider Ali Khan are named in the supplementary zone.

Platinum: Hasan Ali, Kieron Pollard, Wahab Riaz

Diamond: Kamran Akmal (brand ambassador), Tom Banton, Shoaib Malik

Gold: Darren Sammy (mentor), Imam-ul-Haq, Liam Dawson

Silver: Umar Amin, Mohammad Mohsin, Rahat Ali, Dwaine Pretorius, Adil Amin

Emerging: Amir Khan, Amir Ali

Supplementary: Liam Livingstone, Haider Ali Khan

if You want to know all about Big Bash League 2019/20 All Teams, Players, Squads & Schedule please click the link below.


4 thoughts on “PSL 2020 draft Team-wise list of players picked

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *